Would You Want To Be Your Client?

ID-10080092Part of the branding process for any business is determining what your ideal client looks like:  Are they male or female? Where do they fall on an economic scale? How do you want them to interact with your product or service? But the other side of that equation has to be about you – how do you plan to treat them? Are you a one-time sale or a relationship built?

Would you want to be your client?

As a coach, I provide a partnership-based service for my client. I have a criteria for potential clients that takes into account a wide variety of characteristics – but when it comes right down to it, if I’m not the kind of person they want to do business with, it doesn’t really matter that they are “the perfect client” to me. I will run them off before we even get started. I receive calls all the time at my other office (a successful service-related business) from automated, robotic phone messages and telemarketers trying to make a sale, calling me because I fit a certain criteria. Rarely do those calls even get to me (I have a fabulous watch-dog of a receptionist), but the few that do are dreadful. I would never want to be their client.

Then there is the representative who starts off with the right questions, who knows my name and pronounces it correctly, who gets my attention. They are upbeat without sounding fake, enthusiastic about what they represent, but wise enough to not cross the line into pushy. They sell me on the mutual benefits both of us get from the sale – I’m a believer in win-win. And, most importantly, they follow up with me when they say they will; it’s part of building a relationship, not just making a sale.

When I coach, my #1 priority has to be my client: Why are they here? What do they want to get out of this partnership for this set period of time? And what do I need to bring to the table to help make that happen for them? For some people, they just need an external push to do what they already know to do. For others, they want more insight and guidance. But no matter what, I have to be the kind of person they want to deal with.

And so I ask myself regularly – would I want to be my client? I’m confident enough to answer with an emphatic “yes.” Coaching provides me the opportunity to do what I love to do – help others achieve more than they could on their own, dream bigger than they would on their own, and push themselves to greatness. It’s getting you further, faster. That’s what I “sell” – and if the packaging I sell it in doesn’t meet expectations, chances are, that potential client isn’t going to buy.

Take an honest look around your business: If you were walking in for the first time, what would your impression be? How are you greeted? Would you want to come back?

Would you want to be your client?

About seamlesscoach

www.seamlesscoach.com
This entry was posted in branding, Business, Business Coach, client, Coaching, Customer Service, Details, partnership, sales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

